Check out our typography channel on Instagram

Proto-Elamite Story

oldnick

Well, it’s good to know that technology can be thoughtfully applied to crack a tough nut. But, tell me: was his tablet computer an Apple? His findings will not be cool unless is was, you know…

DTY

That's a really terrible article, even by the usual low standards of archaeology-related journalism. You have to be very careful when talking to journalists, because they'll misinterpret anything they possibly can, and pick up on random throwaway remarks and spin them into major points. And it doesn't help that this one doesn't seem to have gone to any other expert on the topic to get perspective, comment, etc.

hrant

David, sadly I'm not surprised to hear that. I'm no expert, but I did sense some passages that smelled of journalistic contrivance. Can you provide specifics though? If you have the time/inclination.

hhp

quadibloc

When I saw the part about a big black dome with flashing lights, I felt trepidation, because computers are only shaped like domes in bad science-fiction, and front-panel lights are out in the computer world today.

But it wasn't a monster computer that deciphered the language; it was a specialized camera that captured elusive features of the relief inscriptions.

So there's nothing in the article to set off any alarm bells.

The other link in this thread, though, essentially says that proto-Elamite inscriptions are understood, but they aren't really representative of an actual language - pictures of things accompanied by a count of how many are being receipted for. So that does make me suspicious.

DTY

These are just my opinions, and I'm not an expert, but here are some things in the article that seemed a bit off.

Breakthrough in world's oldest undeciphered writing