Education typography videos. Check out our YouTube channel …

Opinions about a font combo making website.

jcavill
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello everyone!
My name is Jerry and I am a current student at Kutztown University in Pennsylvania taking the communication design program.
A group of us are taking part in a startup weekend and decided to begin the creation of a website (type-wich.com) to help with the creation of font combos for individuals looking to create anything in the design world. Or anywhere else really.
So, the way it will work, an individual will pick a font for the header and a list of fonts that will be possible good looking matches for the body. This way it can be quicker for designer to find another font that will work well with their first pick easier.

This site will also work as a filtration system to bring in most of the fonts from freelancers/type founders and smoothly dispense it to an individual. Because of this, there is a possibility for someone to see a font which they might like and buy it through us from the designer.

So, I am asking for ideas and opinions on what you guys/girls think of this idea!

bemerx25

So a website that helps designers pair fonts...for any medium (print/web)? And they could then purchase a license to said fonts through this site?

Rhetorically:
So why are they called "designers" then if they need to rely on an outside service to select better font pairings? Isn't that why clients hire them? To make these design decisions?

Back on topic:
I personally think this won't succeed - you're going to be competing in a fairly compressed market filled with fairly large vendors who offer similar services (not necessarily the font pairing aspect, but being able to view fonts, see how they typeset, and then making them easily purchasable.) But the decision is up to you and who knows?

hrant