The latest typography links delivered straight to your inbox.

What do newspapers need in their typefaces?

Sonoraphobic
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello everyone. I am a novice in type design aiming on making a serif (and if possible, a sans-serif companion) type system aimed at newspaper use. I am still in development, and I am looking at some other fonts that look great on print.

But I am confused on how to do it because there are some issues on character sets, color, legibility (His Excellency Fred Smeijers said one can do wedgies on the serifs), and even chemistry [H&FJ brings up the topic on font grades, to cope with how ink reacts with paper (I know lazyheads, you are all crying right now :'{ )].

So the question remains: what do newspapers really need in the design of its typefaces?

hrant

This is a big challenge. For one thing although the technical stuff is huge, "mood" still plays a role, and you have to end up with a design that reflects the character of the newspaper.

The one recent effort that I think has revealed deep insight into news face requirements is Christian Schwartz's Houston Chronicle typeface*. It aptly demonstrated how features that look ridiculous when large turn into gold when small. In fact, as I've opined before a text face in general can't be optimal if it looks too nice when used for display (although many designers dispute this).

* http://www.christianschwartz.com/houston.shtml

BTW there's a huge reference you've missed: David Berlow. Hopefully he'll chime in.

hhp

Nick Shinn

They need types that will work well on the presses on which their publication is printed; paper stock and ink gain are key issues, especially for body type.

They need types that will not waste space, which is at a premium in a medium which is quite literally downsizing.

They need display types which are tightly fitted.
For serifed headline fonts, very fine details for use huge.