Education typography videos. Check out our YouTube channel …

Thesis topic

Tatiana Marza
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello!

I am a Graphic Design student and I am making my 3rd attempt to write a thesis. By writing here, I consider myself desperate, because I cannot find a topic for my thesis. The only thing I clarified for myself is that I am interested in typography and calligraphy. And writing a thesis on these topics could help me to use what I've learned in my future projects.
Although I am reading everywhere in attempt to find something which would excite me, I am at a dead end.
So I am asking for your help.

I have in mind some questions, but I am wondering if they could evolve into a thesis argument:

1. Which are the limits of calligraphy?
2. What's the connection between typography/calligraphy and music?
3. Serif fonts are suitable for books (long reading), sans serif - for numbers. Excluding the aesthetic factor,
what's the purpose of semi serif fonts?

I need some hints so I could move on in developing a thesis argument.

Thank you!

Karl Stange

2. What's the connection between typography/calligraphy and music?

Depending on how technical you are willing/able to be, you could consider something along the lines of the relationship between typography and musical notation, with a particular focus on the current technical and aesthetic limitations in producing musical notation digitally, as discussed in this thread:

https://typography.guru/forums/topic/100305-forwarding

Karl Stange

It occurred to me that indeed typography may influences our behavior and choices for example during political campaigns.