Check out our exclusive articles, videos and font downloads on Patreon!

Typography to reflect swedish furniture design

decipher
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello typhofiles,
I am a graphic design student that could use some help. At the moment I am working on an assignment where I am to create a visual identity for a design hotel which has swedish furniture design as it's theme. It should reflect both the contemporary design and the design history.

When I think of swedish furniture design I think of functionalism, rational design, clean and stylistically pure furniture. I immediately thought of Futura for the typography, and therefore chose the classic combination Futura and Bodoni.

My teacher however had this to say about my choices: Excepted+safe=boring. He told me to explore the world of typography and come up with something that feels more modern.

Any suggestions on where to start looking? Any hands-on suggestions on which fonts to try? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Frode Bo Helland

Another Swedish foundry: Letters from Sweden.

A word of advice: Make concious choices! Just choosing something because someone here says ‘try this’, or because it irks your teacher, is not good for your education. Try to understand why a particular typeface works better or worse in the context.

hrant

Good advice; hence "try", not "just use" (the latter being the typical mindframe of many who use/recommend things like Futura or Helvetica). And remember, giving recommendations without elaboration does not make it a thoughtless recommendation; it often means the guy is too busy.

hhp

dezcom

Remember that typography is much more than choosing a typeface. How you use it is of vital importance. Learning how to use it is not a five minute task, either. Search for contemporary typography which has a modern edge that suits the furniture. Mostly, look at he shapes of the furniture. What typefaces work best with those shapes?

Frode Bo Helland