The type specimens of the world in one database …

20 fonts every graphic designer should know how to use

nikolai
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I'm a student at Art Center College of Design. I would really like to get feedback from those currently practicing in the professional world. Obviously each individual project dictates the font choices that need to be made. I am looking for your opinion on a good base of fonts to use and understand.

I realize there is no clear answer, but would appreciate any feedback you might give. Thank You.

mrriddle

Nikolai - First off, great question. many new designers interested in Typography (eg. myself 7 odd years ago) thinks the more fonts you have the more choice you have.

Not really - the more fonts you have the longer it takes to evaluate the possibilities for each project and the more wrong fonts you need to wade through before finding something suitable. In the commercial world time is morning and therefore you are actually restricting the chances you will find a great font inside the deadline!

That being said I would start with a couple of good quality fonts and really know the font inside out before buying more.

Know what the designer intended, know if the target audience is (over)used to the font, what attitude it conveys subliminally. How dark it makes the page, whether it suits looser or tighter leading and what point size is most suitable for different lengths of copy.

Also know how the family fits together. How much emphasis does a bold give to the roman, maybe the black weight will work better, or maybe the italic is different enough for emphasis.

A tiny selection of my workhorse fonts are:
Sans - Frutiger, DIN, Avant Garde
Serif - Minion Pro, Adobe Garamond Pro
Script - Voluta Script, Pilsner (Letterhead Fonts)