Join our community of friends of typography!

Trapping Problem from PDF made from InDesign - please help

Jackie Frant
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I have been doing a western series for more than 10 years. The title type is placed on the graphic into photoshop. We never had any problems. A few months ago (you may remember my crying about the printer demanding the files be done in InDesign rather than Quark) the files were going out as requested by their printer.

The title type in the last two month print jobs doesn't seem to be trapping - there is a white halo around the type. The printer says it's my file preparation - but outside of the fact the pdf is made in InDesign to their specs -- and not Quark) -- there is no other change. It is still front cover in photoshop. I think the printer is not trapping properly on press... the old catch-22.

Can anyone help and shed some light on this?

Thank you in advance,

Jackie

Paul Cutler

You can't generate overprinting from a PS file to my knowledge (although multiply is pretty close). Maybe that is what they are complaining about. But the only reason they would complain is if they couldn't hold register on their plates. It's on them Jackie no doubt, but that still doesn't solve the problem.

Could you get the same effect by placing the title in ID? Then you could set it to overprint. Of course if the title was white that would be a HUGE mistake… -:)

Is the title a spot color by any chance?

I also don't quite understand that the printer gets to tell you what program to generate a PDF with. It really shouldn't matter. Are they in love with CID encoded fonts or something?

pbc

agostini

Hi jackie
usually its the printers job to get the trapping sorted. which means
you just export as a pdf from indesign or you print to postscript and
use distiller to do the conversion to pdf.
The printer should have the ability to trap your pdf file with special
trapping software (heidelberg's supertrap).