Check out our typography channel on Instagram

Need a printing advice

apankrat
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Trying to round up options for printing this business card. I am quite new to this, so I would appreciate some guidance.

First, the paper is Touche from Fibermark. Amazing, suede-like texture. Somewhat similar to Plike, but bolder.

I want to preserve the texture of course, so the inverted printing is not an option. So white needs to be printed on black.

The four options I have arrived at are:

• Metallic foil pressing. Non-metallic foil allegedly flakes and doesn't look sharp enough when finer details are present. An example is here.
  • Letterpress in metallic ink. An example is here.
  • Engraving. An example is here.
  • Silkscreening. An absolutely amazing example is here.

I would rather not do the metallic ink if possible as I need to get flat white for the type. No shimmer and such.

I would rather not do pressing or engraving as these leave the imprint on the back. Though I guess this can be remedied by duplexing or using thicker stock.

Engraving guys said the white is not a problem, but opaque yellow ink is a special order, which takes a while and costs a lot (yellow is used for the middle stroke between two E's).

I am inclining towards the silk-screened version, but I absolutely cannot find anyone who can do it. Leave alone with very tight registration in two colors. Tried emailing the owner of Flickr photo, got no response. Does anyone know if there are any printers that could do this ?

Also the sharpness of small type on that Flickr photo looks very impressive, but I suspect it is very hard to achieve. Am I right ?

Thermography is another option, but local guys are saying that their white inks are not opaque enough to work on black. So I was wondering if doing termography over a foil would work - any thoughts on this ?

Thanks for any pointers and/or comments. I could really use some :-)

AGL