Check out our typography channel on Instagram

What are your opinions about my first font?

Soroush
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi all,

I finished my first font.

I need your advices, my font have this features:

1. supports all of languages using Arabic script (unicode range 0600-06FF and 0750-077F).
  2. Have 5553 kerning pairs.

As an experienced designer, what's your opinion about my first typeface? it's based on XB Niloofar and Zar fonts. Some glyphs are scanned from printed papers of 1998 year, I could not find the original Zar font. (see attached pdf.)

Attachment Size
Samples.pdf 55.99 KB
Kerning.jpg 205.24 KB
Frode Bo Helland

Hi Soroush. It would easier to judge with a pdf. Although I have no experience with Arabic, I’d love to see this up close. I find the Arabic script in itself beautiful and facinating.

Frode Bo Helland

As stated, I know nothing about Arabic. My comments come from a latin point of view, so please take them with a grain of salt.

These spots, and a few others, are places where your strokes seem to form heavy black spots. Is this intended?

Soroush

I see you. Last one is a bug: (look at here)

But about other heavy black spots: One of the most common paradigms in Arabic Calligraphy and type-design is making heavy marked text to seem Mono-Weight --> so from a far enough distance, the whole text should look like a silhouette gray illusion (see below images). (I think kerning of Latin fonts is based on the same idea.)

http://29letters.files.wordpress.com/2007/05/arabic-letterforms.jpg
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_v4maAoBsN18/SdSrLqguRdI/AAAAAAAAAKg/VWPi962_1k...
http://www.islamicity.com/mosque/ihame/aw62d.gif