The type specimens of the world in one database …

Absolutely best free alternative fonts for newbie designers?

Predabot
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi, name's Lars Johansson. ( *ducks for obligatory Swede-jokes*)

I found this outstanding site trough some searching on the web, for resources and information on fonts and typography.

I'm a hobbyist web and graphical designer, as well as an amateur comic-book letterer and colourist.

I'm also an editor for a comic-book fanzine here in Sweden, and one of my duties is the design of logos and promotional fliers. As such, I have been reading up on what is essentially considered to be the VERY BEST of the best, of the best, ( and on and on ;) ) fonts that a modern graphical designer needs to have in his arsenal.

I've also come to the conclusion that quality most definitely don't come cheap. So, realizing that I at the moment do not have the funds to actually acquire the tools of the professional, I have started the search for the best hobbyists tools.

That has led me to this board, mainly because I find an immense amount of knowledge seems to be contained here. Knowledge that I desperately need.

You gents and ladies are some of the very best in the global typography industry. Can you help me out with putting together a list of the very best Open Source fonts that I can use in my work?

I've been gazing the following sites in my quest, and they seem to hold part of the answers that I seek:

http://www.theleagueofmoveabletype.com/
--
Really great fonts there, already dl-ed some of them and used in a project.

http://www.alvit.de/blog/article/20-best-license-free-official-fonts
--
Vitaly Friedman seems to be taking a really good look at some of the best alternatives for a newbie like me. It doesn't seem like that many of these fonts can actually replace the true classics that professional designers use tho...

http://justcreativedesign.com/2008/03/02/30-best-font-downloads-for-desi...
--