Join our community of friends of typography!

International Typographic Units

TylerEldredge
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi guys! I'm a student, so, needless to say, I've definitely never done any professional design work, but I do work a lot on InDesign in class, so I'm pretty familiar with the way things work in the USA. My question concerns typographic units outside of the English speaking world. I was reading some article somewhere that mentioned that other countries don't use picas--which was a novel idea to me. I'm just used to twelve points in a pica, six picas in an inch etc. So I started looking.

I've found, that, in countries like Italy and France, there's a system in place originally created by Françoise-Ambroise Didot which goes like this:
12 lignes = 1 French Royal Inch
6 didot points (dd) = 1 ligne
12 dd = 1 cicero
6 ciceros = 1 French Royal Inch

It makes sense to me, although it takes a little thought to get my head wrapped around it. But I love the names, they're much prettier than the American/British method. I also read that Japan uses the American/British system, but I haven't been able to find anything else out about other countries. Are there units tailored to the metric system, used in other places? It would be nice, the ratios are admittedly pretty weird :P

hrant

AFAIK Japan uses something called "Q", which is 1/4 of a mm.
IIRC Otl Aicher wanted to see Europe adopt this system.
BTW you might have already learned that before any unit was invented
type sizes were referred to by names (like "pearl" meant 5 point).

Sorry for all the acronyms. LOL. Not really.

hhp

Nick Shinn

I would occasionally work in Ciceros, in Quark XPress.
I found it useful, when creating tables (or tabs) with irregular column widths, to switch measurement units until I came up with something that divided into manageable integers.

TylerEldredge

I like acronyms, they're classy :]