Join our community of friends of typography!

White spaces

Jean-David
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I have often heard that typography is more about the white spaces.
I've been practicing in graphic design for around ten years and consider myself a pretty decent typographer, certainly not a typography superhero but decent. Yet I still have a hard time grasping the "white spaces" concept.
Contributions anyone?

kentlew

In case it’s not clear just from the site that Dave linked above, Cyrus Highsmith’s approach in his Inside Paragraphs book is all about identifying and understanding the different kinds of white space, their hierarchy, and their interactions.

typerror

Some say that the clinking of the glasses during a toast was meant to involve the "final/fifth sense"... hearing.
Using pens, as a first resort, has provided me with spacing skills that I would have missed out on otherwise. I find white spaces, spacing, etc. to be a lot like the rhythm and meter found in music. I find I am more interested, as I age, in the spaces/time between the notes.
Much like one's inability to pull apart a thread of music, without disrupting the flow, one must look at the paragraph in toto. One of the first books that gave me an "Aha" was a little book by Rudo Spemann, it took me a year to see the "white" but what a revelation it was.
The book by Cyrus is wonderful and augments what I have learned by doing.

hrant

Whitespace is instinctively hard to grasp (probably mostly because we're taught to mark the black, because that's what's practical) which is probably why it generally gets short shrift, but it's also possible to give it too much relevance (perhaps as an over-reaction to the established "injustice"). Because really, the important thing is notan: the unity and relationship of black and white. Practically speaking, this means we should ideally design their border, not one or the other. Which is easier said than done!

hhp

Nick Shinn