Check out our exclusive articles, videos and font downloads on Patreon!

Best choice of free fonts for academic writing, MAC OSX

ycherem
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I was just wondering: is it even possible to have a decent academic writing (i.e., not too fancy) typeset on MAC OSX’s bundled/native fonts and/or free fonts?

Somehow all the fonts available for running text on MAC OSX seem to have a weird deficiency — weird final forms of Hoefler Text (which has only black, no bold), ugly bold Baskerville, too-fancy Cochin, too-common (read: boring and unappealing) Helvetica and Times, Bodoni only 72 pt, and the list goes on.

I haven’t found free fonts out there much more reassuring (a possible exception is Gentium).

And by the way: no, I won’t pay $100 for a font, as I’m not a designer and make no money from it.

Is it advisable to just stop caring about fonts?

ycherem

@hrant That’s a good question. (I’d just rephrase it, because I just spend less than 10 dollars a month on my cellphone.)

Let me put it another way, than: what is a better choice for a nice (read: beyond acceptable or commonplace) academic work commercial typeface?

I’ve just been in doubt, when and if I spend, between Karmina, Calluna and Skolar. I just want to be sure that I’m buying something that lasts and that I can set a lot of text with.

hrant

The problem is for somebody like you who is clearly
sensitive to typography, the more affordable a font
the more "boring" it will be, by virtue of its ubiquity.

I guess keep looking for the right font that's affordable
to you. And keep in mind that it's not just a matter of
taste, the adequacy of a choice will depend on a number
of technical factors.

hhp

ycherem