The latest typography links delivered straight to your inbox.

The Evolution of Type - Poster

buddhaboy
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

In my ongoing search for interesting type related art for home, does anyone know of a nice poster design, showing the evolutionary milestones in the development of type, at least in the latin alphabet, from blackletter, through humanist, oldstyle, transitional, modern etc, along with important names and dates?

If none exists I think this would be a great project, and would produce something worthy of hanging on the office wall.

PublishingMojo

When I was in high school, long before I dreamed that I would work for much of my adult life as a graphic designer, I bought this big box of "Foot-High Letters" that I found in a museum gift shop. It was a 1960s Dover reprint of a 1940 publication, probably originally intended for use in art classrooms.

They're really meant to show the distinguishing characteristics of type families rather than the history of type design, but they still make handsome conversation pieces.

A quick Google search turned up few UK dealers who list this set for the equivalent of US $10 or less.

Quincunx

I have a poster that compares different alphabets; the Phoenician alphabet, early Greek, late Greek and then our alphabet. If you think it might be of interest to you, I can make a photo of it tomorrow.

I also have a fantastic bundle of poster-like things that shows different alphabets of around the world and a bit of the history of alphabets; see a few photo's on my flickr here, here and here. There are some more photo's of it on my photostream page here, at the bottom (unfortunately they're not currently in a seperate Set).

buddhaboy