The latest typography links delivered straight to your inbox.

Resolution: what's reasonable?

Joshua Langman
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I know that the answer depends on what you're printing and what you're printing it with, but as a designer I'd like to be more confident about what's a reasonable resolution for producing a file for a certain context. This mostly applies to images, because type, of course, remains as curves in PDFs, but I'm curious about type as well: even if the resolution is determined only when it gets to the press, what will that resolution be? So I'm asking just for some examples of the resolution of different printed materials: things made on digital presses vs. offset presses; newspapers vs. magazines. How about those coffee table art books? I haven't found a handy reference for this sort of thing.

When I am scanning or exporting imagery I usually do it at the highest DPI possible, even if I know that the printer isn't capable of maintaining that DPI. Is there any detriment to this? (Other than enormous files, which some people mind but have never bothered me.)

And is it just me, or can you get away with much lower resolution on images than on type? The same printer that producers gorgeous, detailed photographs can't seem to make type look smooth enough.

All thoughts are welcome!

kentlew

For images destined for print, the thing that drives the equation is the the halftone linescreen (and to a lesser extent, the relationship between linescreen and the output resolution of the rendering device).

Generally the rule of thumb is that you need at least 1:1 image resolution to linescreen, and more than 2:1 image resolution to linescreen is a waste of file space.

Since a majority of commercial printing is done at 150 linescreen, the rule of thumb for images is 300 ppi at actual size.