Join our community of friends of typography!

Baby Steps in Changing (Creating) an identity for an organization...

This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello! So here's my story: I'm a pastor. I love design and type, but I am not a designer by profession or training. I recently took a new position, and (like many or most churches) the design is abysmal or non-existant. Think word art, and newsletter with said word art created in (no, I'm not kidding) Microsoft Word. Also, no logo, no unified font choice (different fonts in bulletin, newsletter, website, letterhead, etc.) On the one hand, this is exciting for me, because there is real progress to be made. On the other hand, it's horrifying, because there is so much to do, and I don't know where to start. At some point, I would like to hire someone to consult and help us create a full identity that we can use across all these platforms. In the meantime, what baby steps would y'all suggest that will help 1. Create a sense of seriousness and 2. Raise consciousness, subtly, with folks so they start to see how important design is and what a difference it can make for their organization. Thoughts?

Collect well-designed stuff from other churches and have it on hand to make the distinction from your church's stuff. Is there something like an "Evangelism Committee"--lay leaders who are interested in spreading the word about what's happening at your church? That might be a place to start such conversations, at least about the "outward-facing" stuff your church is producing.

Chartres: the towers were originally identical, but one was destroyed by fire several hundred years later and rebuilt. There are many old churches in Europe which have been added to over the years in different styles of architecture. But otherwise, if you’re managing the whole project at once, who would want to present themselves to the world in such a disparate, muddled, indecisive manner—like wearing clothes that don't match.