Check out our exclusive articles, videos and font downloads on Patreon!

Font license dissertation opinions

craig atkinson
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi everyone

My name is Craig and I'm currently in my third year of BA (Hons) Graphic Design. I am in the process of writing my dissertation, and my chosen question is: In what ways are free font license websites affecting the type design industry and professional type foundries?

To summarise I am going to investigate:
- how and why have free font websites developed
- opinions on free font websites and how often people use them.
- the legality issues with font licenses to see what part this plays in the industry (commercial licenses, piracy and intellectual property)
- the wider debate of amateur vs professional in a number of creative industries.
- how it is affecting professional foundries

I'm going to leave the subject open without questions, but I would really appreciate if you could briefly explain your views and opinion on the subject.

Any reading recommendations would also be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance
Craig

oldnick

- how and why have free font websites developed
Because lots of free fonts were available, and people like free stuff.

- opinions on free font websites and how often people use them.
Some are great, some suck. People use them as often as they want free stuff.

- the legality issues with font licenses to see what part this plays in the industry (commercial licenses, piracy and intellectual property)
Which legality issues? People tend to remember what benefits them personally, and ignore what doesn’t.

- the wider debate of amateur vs professional in a number of creative industries.
Many professionals—such as myself—started out making free fonts. OTOH, many gifted amateurs provide the world with some very usable fonts, and a lot of hacks serve up pure-D crap.

- how it is affecting professional foundries