Join our community of friends of typography!

Help me improve this list of guidelines on spacing

ath
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi typophiles,
I'm a humble web designer trying to improve my typography skills. At this point I'm particularly concerned with spacing issues. I've read several books and at the moment these are the tips I've been able to gather. I'm hoping some of you might help me improve, correct or refine this list or point me to any relevant literature on the subject. Please excuse me if I get any of the terminology wrong. Like I said, I'm a novice. Also, I'm having to write this on a tablet so I apologize in advance for any mistakes in the text.

Letter-spacing
------------------------------------------------------------
Reduce if:
- large body size (+ adjust kerning)
Augment if:
- small body size
- all caps (+ adjust kerning)

Word-spacing
------------------------------------------------------------
Typical starting point: 1/4 of body size
If you are not sure, go with tighter spacing
Must be clearly less than line-spacing
Make sure the "image" of each word is clearly separate from the previous and the next but don't let the lines fall apart. Enforce continuity. Step back and see if your paragraphs are disintegrating.
Word-spacing can be augmented if:
- typeface has large counters
- you are using an extended family
- you are using all caps
- you have long lines
- you have a small body size
Reduce if:
- large body size

Line-spacing
----------------------------------------------------
Augment if:
- light text on dark background
- long lines
- large x-height
Reduce if:
- short burst of info

Line-length
-----------------------------------------------------
Ideally 35-65 characters

Justified text
----------------------------------------------------
Avoid when you have short ines of text.
Improve by:
- splitting words
- adjusting word-spacing (make sure uneven spacing doesn't break up your paragraphs)