Education typography videos. Check out our YouTube channel …

Help me compare these 4 lovely serif faces

ath
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi everybody!

I'm a web designer learning to care more about type. I'm going to buy some serif fonts for use on websites. I've seen several by Dieter Hofrichter that seem to have an affordable price, a contemporary feel, good quality and will also look good in display sizes.

Given the list below, what you think the pros and cons of each might be compared to the others? Keep in mind that, although I'll be buying both a print and a webfont license, I'll mainly be using them for web sites. That includes body text at a 14-18px size.

Cala
At MyFonts
PDF at Hoftype

Carat
At MyFonts
PDF at Hoftype

Sina
At MyFonts
PDF at Hoftype

Sina Nova
At MyFonts
PDF at Hoftype

I've printed out the PDF samples and I keep staring at them but I just don't have enough expertise to properly compare them beyond obvious things like x-height.

Here is screenshot for those of you feeling too lazy to click around:

Nick Shinn

I'll mainly be using them for web sites. That includes body text at a 14-18px size.

Then what use is showing an alphabet specimen at display size?

ath

@ Mr. Shinn:
First of all, thank you for being so helpful. As usual.
Second, you have small sizes in the four PDFs I linked to. Usually PDF specimens have small sized text, you know. Clicking on a link isn't that hard. I added the screenshot as an extra courtesy. I thought maybe it would be helpful to see the letters more closely. I imagine a trained eye can tell a lot about a face from just seeing how the letters are constructed?
Third, if you go to myfonts you can look at them however you want. Myfonts usually saves in your browser whatever settings you last used in their font specimen tool so if you go there you can look at the font with your own preferred settings with no additional effort on your part.