Check out our typography channel on Instagram

Mixing fonts

Harpsichordmaker
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I'am a new user, and an absolute newbie in typesetting.
I am now typesetting a scholar critical edition of baroque music (I am using InDesign) and I wish to ask a question to the esperts.
I am using Adobe Garamond Premiere as the general font for the edition. It's a font I like very much, but there is a single glyph I don't like (well, two, in fact), the typographical quotes « ». I find they take too much of horizontal space, and I would like to use for them the Bembo Book quotes, which I like more.
So the question is: is it considered acceptable for a professional typesetting to mix two text fonts, so that the text is in Adobe Garamond Premiere and only the quotes in Bembo Book?

Thanks in advance.

cerulean

If it were English quotes “ ”, my answer might be different, but fortunately, guillemets lack identifying qualities that would match or mismatch other glyphs of a typeface. As long as you are careful to apply them consistently, it should work fine. To edit a document littered with brief font changes requires you to be mindful, lest you find you've accidentally set one whole sentence in Bembo.

kentlew

To accomplish this sort of mixing, you might be best served by establishing a special character stylesheet for Bembo Book and using this for a GREP style within your basal text paragraph stylesheet to restyle all (and only) guillemets on the fly.