The latest typography links delivered straight to your inbox.

Getting into Typographic - What I need to do?

Hi there. 
My name is Omri and I'am a graphic designer, I'm also new here :) lately I have some thoughts getting into typographic and I have some questions about it, and I hope you can help me...

My idea is to open a boutique font company that designs her own fonts and sell it of course. It will be only for my native language (Hebew).

My knowledge in typographic is very small, I just know how to design. Actually I haven't even created or designed a font yet. so I'm really new at this. so...

One, I want to open a company of fonts that I designs.
Two, I want to know what do I need to have to make it happen?

Other relevant questions, If I can do it alone? - There is some tut' 101 for beginners ?

Any help will be welcome,  Thanks everyone :)

Well, that is a big question! It’s basically: how to become a type designer and how to run a type foundry, i.e. how to run a business? In general: none of these things can be learned just from “tutorials”.  Those are complex topics which need a lot of learning, practice and considerations. 

But we recently had a similar question here. Maybe there is something useful for you in there. 

• Like 1

Thanks for the replay Ralf. It toke me couple of days to understand all the comments in that link you shared. and most of the things said there, letting me understand more to where I'm getting into. And I do have some question if you can help me with that.

You mentioned "Glyphs" app to Kathrin. and I did look into it, and I have been researching in their blog and forums if the app supports Hebrew font creation, and it seems that it's not fully supporting Hebrew (See here). Now... everything wrote in the link I shared above, I don't understand. and I ask you if you understand what he saying, and it's fixable or good for me since I want to design fonts only in Hebrew...