Join our community of friends of typography!

What Kind Of A Career Can Typography Lead To?

Byronb81
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I’m a graphic design student who has in the last year and a half fallen in love with typography. I guess I never understood how much was really going on there before but I digress. I seem to be the only one at my school obsessed with type and trying to learn everything I can about it. My question is, what can I do with this as a career? I know somebody is going to say, “be a typographer” but what does that mean? Do you really draw typefaces all day?

I’m very much interested in learning more about how one sets an entire book but is that a job? Or is it more along the lines of you’ll be a graphic designer who specializes in type so you’ll get more work doing book covers and whatnot? I know this is a sophomoric question but you guys seem to be a different species then most of the graphic designers I meet and I want to know what you do, thanks!

Nick Shinn

Type design and typography are different things. I'm a type designer, but I don't draw typefaces all day, there is too much other business to take care of (not to mention hanging out at Typophile).

There's not much of a future in print typography, although on any given day it's always possible for anybody to find their niche anywhere. There's plenty of opportunity to be a typographer online, but the skill set is quite different than for print. If you want to make type look good in digital media, you need to be able to animate it in applications like Fireworks, Flash and After Effects.

Consider the typography here--heads that use sIFR, Font Bureau's animated banner ad, and the coding of the text you're reading now. That's typography today.

Quincunx