The type specimens of the world in one database …

Streamlining Arabic script text and font technology

behnam
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I throw some ideas here, to whom it may concern!

The current font and text rendering technology has been developed with Roman script fine typography in mind. Naturally, when exposed to the expansion and international needs, it has developed additional capabilities to respond to those needs.
The OpenType and AAT technology which were initially designed for 'fine typography' of Roman script, have become indispensable tools, not for 'fine' typography, but for mere readability of the Arabic text.
As a result, when it comes to 'fine typography' of Arabic script, the technological requirement (knowledge as well as support) has become so vast that 'fine typography' of Arabic script has remained in the domain of feasibility, not usability.

I'm not a programer nor a computer savvy but looking at what has already been achieved in Arabic fine typography, it seems to me that an Arabic text engine, optimized for Arabic script needs, is not really a complicated affair. All it needs to do is to follow Arabic text rendering the same way Arabic words are drawn on paper. You draw the word with connected characters, in their contextual variations, and then you place dots and signs on top of it.

The complication comes from the fact that with current technology, the priorities are not straight. We do not need the capability of dragging and repositioning a character on top of the previous letters. These are the capabilities of DTP applications which are so well demonstrated in Tasmeem of DecoType which has been also achieved in a different manner in MaryamSoft.

What I think would be a streamlined Arabic text engine, is first to rid of horizontal line state of mind for joining characters. The glyphs join together where their positioning anchors tell them to join. It might be horizontal, might not. This should be irrelevant.