Check out our exclusive articles, videos and font downloads on Patreon!

Newbie question: General help needed

Soroush
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi,

I have some questions about Arabic font design.

Six months ago I was writing a documentation couple for my program, so I needed Arabic fonts. First I used B Nazanin and XB Niloofar, but then aimed that they don’t support almost all of features I needed. Then I search on net to find well-designed Arabic fonts. Else than Scheherazade, I found nothing free. so decide to create my own Arabic font with support of large Unicode range, Kerning, Mark positioning and Mark2Mark positioning. (when I didn’t know anything about amount of work!)

After a few seconds I understood I have to do lot of work manually. There was over 1060 glyph to be positioned for ‘haraka’s, compared together for kerning, and many other things… Trying to write automated algorithms for feature generation, I started learning FontLab’s macro structure. But there was no documentation and manual published :-{. Finally found unofficial documentation… I wrote macros for generating VOLT lookups of kerning, substitutions for detect and overcome overlaps, glyph forms, haraka placing, ligature creation, generate cursive attachment and many other things. After two boring weeks, now I have my own font, based on XB Niloofar of IRMUG. But it’s not beautiful (sample PDF of font attached)

I don’t know how you create your fonts, but I’m sure there is no sufficient tool for creating Arabic fonts. I use PIL, Python 3.1 VOLT and Fontlab with a complex couple of macros and programs written for integrating them. I feel I’m misguided… because I think it should not be such complex like this!

Finally my questions:
1-Do you use your own programs or special tools of your company for font design?
2-IF there is no any suitable tool for Arabic design, THEN why anybody don’t write one? I want such a program that could do all of these, automatically.