Join our community of friends of typography!

Help needed with an html5 kerning game

markjc
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi there,

I created an html5 kerning game, works great on Chrome, Firefox 3+, Safari, Opera, IE9. I'm a designer with some front-end skills, but I must admit my typography expertise might not be up to par with what I'm trying to achieve here.

What I need from you: perform the kerning, compare it to my version, and if you think that your version is better than mine, click on the yellow link and a popup will be displayed with a code that will help me correct it. Post it here and I will be eternally grateful. Using the keyboard is the fastest way of getting the job done, if you are short on time.

Note to type designers: I'd be honored to showcase your work. Just send me an .ai file with your properly kerned word converted to curves. Just send me an e-mail to [email protected] with the file and the name, author, year of release and the corresponding links.

The link is:
http://type.method.ac

Sidenote: I'm not sure KernType is the right name, perhaps TrackType would be a more appropriate term?

Vicke

What a coincidence, I came on here just to post a topic about your new game and see if others had tried it, seems you beat me to it. When I played it there were a few instances where I thought the "solution" wasn't entirely appropriate. Here is an example:

Screen: 6, tracking: 121,252,377,475

Stephen Coles

It's beautifully made, Mark. Well done.

Kerning is a measure of the space between a specific pair of letters.
Tracking is a measure of the overall tightness or looseness of a word, line, or paragraph.

Like others have said, this is more aptly named SpaceType or FitType because the player adjusts the sidebearings of each letter to get an evenly spaced word.

markjc