Check out our typography channel on Instagram

graphics designers who use one or few typefaces

pmbfpereira
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello. Happy new year!!

How many contemporary graphics designers do you know who use one or at least few typefaces?

Try to think apart, or outside, from helvetica and the international style.

Thank you.

font fanatic

I would venture to say that depending on your range of work a majority of designers try to find versatile, high-quality typefaces. I find a lot of times when I'm off searching for some feeling the familiarity of Din, Gotham, Avenir lends well to a lot of projects. Just some thoughts. You might like 8Faces. It's a typography based magazine that asks designers if they could only choose 8 faces to use forever what would they be.

-FF

Andreas Stötzner

As a graphic designer I have most times selected from a limited but hand-picked range of typefaces. I still have preferences for some of the classics but try to avoid those faces used by everyone at a time. For instance, if I may dare to say so, I have used Myriad and Lucida Sans frequently early in the Nineties when they were not yet that popular.
However, by time I repeatedly find myself using my home-made fonts.

charles_e

Kinda depends on what sort of graphic design you're doing. Pitching a product that will have a new style every year? Like after 1957 to the early '60s, every car had to have tail-fins. The bigger the better, until it suddenly stopped. So "graphic design" in those ads was a matter of "style," too. If you know the product is going to change regularly, and/or there will be a new ad campaign every few months, I suppose you gotta be with it.

Now if you look at a well-done book from the 1920s, you know it's dated, but that feeling soon disappears if you start reading it (no, not just look at it, read it).