Education typography videos. Check out our YouTube channel …

Opinions wanted - dated fonts in school

emspace
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hello typophiles,

I'm looking for opinions/suggestions about the following issue :

I've been teaching on and off recently in graphic design in the college where I used to study 10 years ago. This semester I'm giving an introduction to type class and from what I can see, the college still has all the same fonts than when I was a student (and who knows how long they've had them before that). No Officina, no DIN, no Gotham, nothing even Opentype I fear but I need to confirm that. Fortunately, we have a lot of classics but nothing so contemporary.

On the other hand, we are updated our Adobe suites yearly (or as they come out should I say!).

I'm afraid we are helping them become good technicians more than giving them the tools to produce a portfolio that will help them land a job later or get them into university (we tend to do 3 years of graphic design in college here, followed by another 3 years in a BA, but the BA is difficult to get into).

Other than fontsquirrel.com, which I guess would be ok for institutional use since it's ok for commercial, I'm not sure if I have many other options than raise the issue with convincing arguments so the department will think it's an investment and not lots of money going out the window.

What are your thoughts on the issue typophiles?

Thank you for your time,
Emilie

Stephen Rapp

Your best chance to loosen their purse strings might be to show tangible proof of the need and have support by other staff as well. If they can see a worthwhile benefit from the expenditure they are more likely take it seriously.

Dunwich Type