Education typography videos. Check out our YouTube channel …

An examination of typographic practice on the web (MA project)

inkwell design
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi all. I'm a noob on this site - I posted on the typography section on Reddit and one of the commenters suggested I would get more useful feedback here.

I'm writing a Masters thesis on web typography and am creating a website as part of the project.
It's a work in progress, some sections need to be expanded, others edited down. I would appreciate any comments, criticisms or advice you might have.

http://www.inkwell.ie/typography

Thanks in advance.

[edit] I've corrected most, if not all of apocryphal apostrophes.

[edit 2] I should probably point out that this is a component of a taught Masters rather than a Research Masters. The website and paper only comprise 25% of the overall MA.
I've altered the opening paragraph to credit the Chinese and Koreans respectively. Thanks for all the comments so far.

Don McCahill

Some points: I didn't get far into the site. I read the first paragraph, and discovered one factual error (Gutenberg didn't invent moveable type ... the Chinese did ... he reinvented it, or invented it for Latin languages) one sentence missing a verb, and a complete lack of apostrophes to indicate possessives.

Having the option to switch between serif and sans serif was nice, but the font size is bad, and in the sans the tracking is way too tight for the font. You could offer options for larger size, which is probably more important.

Do proof-read your work. I find it unusual that a Master's project should be so lacking in basic English grammar.

inkwell design

Guilty re: apostrophes.
Can I ask what platform/browser you are using and if possible which sans it is displaying in?