Join our community of friends of typography!

21st Century Design Movements?

Bites of Life
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I've got a dilemma trying to find a design period after the Postmodern Movement?

Can anybody tell me if is there a design period after Postmodernim?....

Thanks

innovati

Well, I'm no expert, but I think that a part of the post-modernism movement was pluralism in society, the acceptance of multiple concurrent styles in varying directions.

I don't see that ending, and I certainly see it in the world around me. There will always be certain Milestones in design, be it good or bad, that all of the styles have to endure and survive through.

'Web 2.0' and whatever the heck that means anyway, is certainly purported to be a 'design style' that people want and misapply. I'm sure this will be remembered as a failed sidenote of design history in the future.

Hope that at least gives you some idea that might help you spring off and find some information that could be valuable to you.

Best of luck on your search!

Bites of Life

Thank you innovati,

I've posted a new topic in the design section. It has few questions about my research, it would be great if you fancy to participate.

Thanks very much for your comment. I've recently heard about Web 2.0 and, I didn't have any idea about it. Your argument is very sensible and I reassures my point of view.

Many thanks.
Best wishes,
Laura

Ricardo Cordoba

Laura,

My humble opinion is that we are too close in time, to the period that we call "postmodern design", to give a name to what came afterwards. However, there is an excellent essay/interview with Rob Giampietro that appeared in Emigre 65 (or was it 64?), "Default Systems in Graphic Design," which you can find here.

(For some more comments on Emigre 64, a.k.a. "Rant" see the Speak Up discussion here.)

Nick Shinn

Postmodernism emerged before digital culture.