The type specimens of the world in one database …

Typographic Sins?

Phil T
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I am a 3rd year degree student currently undertaking a typographic brief based around the seven deadly sins.

I was just wondering if anybody could give me an opinion on what they consider to be the worst sins committed
in typography today?

I would be grateful if anybody can help me out

cheers!

agarzola

For starters…

• Stretching the type (horizontally or vertically).
  • Trying to fake a heavier weight by stroking the outline.
  • Justifying text in a way that results in huge gaps in between words (and thus, rivers are formed).

- — - — - — - — - — - — - — -
Will food for type.

innovati

My typography teacher would say: "don't hurt the type" meaning not to stretch the type, and people did throughout my entire college course.

I would have to say things that 9/10 times don't work for beginners are:

Modifying glyphs for logos, unless you can really get inside of the typeface and work it from the inside-out

Stretching type, it always looks...stretched. Much better to invest in condensed or extended weights

Type on a busy background or a background without adequate contrast make it illegible. Happens way way too much

Using Novelty Fonts in the wrong context can lead to disaster. Comic Sans and Papyrus are the easiest targets, but I think I will slaughter whoever typesets something in Bleeding Cowboys or another DaFont.com special next.

Script Fonts don't replace real script. It's so hard to set script fonts convincingly or even decently unless you invest in a professional font family with plenty of alternate characters and swashes. And then it takes a preposterous amount of time to tweak and finesse the words individually. And then you still run the risk of it being hard to read, or virtually illegible to a non-english speaker who may not have extensive recognition capability of hand-written latin characters.