Join our community of friends of typography!

Cyrillic-Using Countries - Plain or Extended?

hrant
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I have a client who has asked me to figure out which countries in a list use "plain" Cyrillic and which use an extended alphabet/encoding. I told the client I need help to do that reliably, so here I am. Below is the list, with what I know or think (the latter marked with a question mark) shown. (Note that some of these countries have a completely non-Cyrillic primary alphabet, but still use some flavor of Cyrillic as a secondary system).

Armenia: P

Azerbaijan: E?

Belorussia: P

Georgia: P

Kazakhstan: E

Kirghizistan: E

Moldova: P?

Russia: P

Tajikistan: E?

Turkmenistan: E?

Ukraine: P

Uzbekistan: E?

Many thanks for any confirmations/corrections.

hhp

nina

I'm no expert (just somebody with a couple of Ukrainian friends), but I believe Ukrainian (the language) is written with a localized variant of the Cyrillic script. They have tittles. :-)

[Screenshotted from Wikipedia, which also says Ukrainian is sometimes Romanized – don't know if that matters in your context.]
nina

Argh, editing doesn't work. Just wanted to add – if you're only going to cater to Russian-speaking Ukrainians, what I said before is obviously a moot point.

Maxim Zhukov

I find this Wikipedia listing useful. The Ethnologue collection of links is not bad either. I don’t know how reliable or up-to-date all that data is, though. Also, note that that information is on Cyrillic-using languages, not countries.

Jongseong

This depends on what is meant by "plain Cyrillic", which is a nebulous concept considering the history of the script and various reforms that took place for different languages. (Trying to define "plain Latin" runs into similar problems, believe it or not.)