Education typography videos. Check out our YouTube channel …

What to charge in this economy?

julia.warren
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

I'm a young designer/illustrator, and in this economy I know I can't afford to be too picky or ask for too much. I've been offered a job by a large stationery/gift packaging company that will be buying out the small company I currently work for. I'm lucky to even be offered a job as the majority of my coworkers have already been laid off at this point.

I was offered a full-time salaried position nearly identical to the one I hold now, but at this point I think I would rather work as an independent contractor, negotiate a higher hourly rate and purse other freelance and personal projects at the same time. I currently feel like I am underpaid and would like to ask for more. However, I don't want to alienate the new management so I am worried about asking for too much.

I know you don't know my exact situation but what would you do if you were in my shoes, my savvy fellow designers?

Chris Keegan

My advice is - take the full-time position while building up your freelance client base on the side. Then, when you have enough clients and leads make the jump. This is what I did back in 2000. Unless you're incredibly good at selling yourself, marketing and networking - which most designers aren't that great at, myself included - it will be tough getting new business right now in this economy. Good luck.

Nachos

It is nice to know you're having a consistent paycheck coming, though it may not be as much as you think your design is worth. Hopefully you could keep a few solid paying clients on the side if you can handle that and the full-time position.

julia.warren