The latest typography links delivered straight to your inbox.

Caps and lowercase spacing

Bendy
This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Just wondering...

I'm spacing my caps to work with lowercase, since I'm designing a text face where all caps settings will be rare. However, it struck me that it could actually be possible to accommodate all caps settings as well, by adding some extra units to the left sidebearings of capital letters: this wouldn't affect how they look with lowercase (except in situations with interCaps) but could make the caps look nicely spaced amongst themselves. Would this be useful, perhaps for situations where OpenType cpsp isn't available? Have other type designers tried this? Or is it undesirable to have the caps off-centre like this?

Joshua Langman

Wouldn't that make every sentence space look too large? Or would you kern them all against the space? And against any previous character that's not another cap? I'm not a type designer, but I think it'd be better to let the typographer decide how much letterspacing to add, if any.

Bendy

Thank you Craig, very instructive.

Joshua, my concern was that most typography I see these days seems to be done by ill-equipped graphic designers; I was hoping to make the font look its best without manual adjustment.

I'm now thinking all caps is such an ugly state of affairs it's probably not worth taking the time to altering their inbuilt spacing and kern.

charles_e

I'm now thinking all caps is such an ugly state of affairs it's probably not worth taking the time to altering their inbuilt spacing and kern.

Oft times, the decision on whether or not to use full caps is the designers for display type, but the editors in running text.