The latest typography links delivered straight to your inbox.

Typography in architecture

This topic was imported from the Typophile platform

Hi,

I'm a graphic design university student going into my final year and have chosen to do my dissertation on the use of typography in architecture.

Most of the resources on this topic focus on signage or wayfinding systems, but I would like to look at buildings where typography is much more integral to the overall design; this could be as part of the actual building (such as the wales millennium centre) or separate but in a way that really adds to the overall impact of the design.

I'm struggling to find good examples of this, especially in the UK where I stand a better chance of being able to talk to architects/typographers involved in the project – I'm appealing for suggestions please! I know there are a couple of other posts in this forum related to this and I've already checked the references out. REally helpful but I jsut need more examples really

Any suggestions of buildings that use typogrpahy or related resources would really be appreciated, thanks!

A friend of mine is an architect whose studio is called x architekten in Linz, Austria. In 2001 they built a house for a family in Upper Austria where one of the supporting pillars was formed as a giant x. The copy of the architectural database nextroom says: »… this pillar is simoultaneously sort of a signature of the architects …" and the well-known newspaper Der Standard has seen this also in his architectural essays: »… this X can be read as an architectural label and links to the authors of the house …«

See more images and stories at the Nextroom. (german only)

Hope this is what you are looking for.

(Image copyright: Herta Hurnaus)